Building Community Around Yoga for Children and Teens

March 23, 2010

Yesterday, I had an inspiring experience while being interviewed by Donna Freeman of Yoga in My School on her Blog Talk Radio program. (to hear the interview, click here). Donna’s work with yoga and schools first came to my attention by way of Facebook. I recall my initial resistance to getting involved with social networks a couple of years ago. I thought they were kind of creepy. And now, having made the leap with the help of Shanti Generation’s  brilliant community manager, John Riley, I have come to value these social networks that are truly helping to make strong connections between like-minded people and organizations.

Nearly a decade ago, when I first began to turn my attention fully to yoga for youth, I researched the available trainings and programs that could be found on the web. Perhaps I found a half dozen at that time who had visible websites. Now, social networks are helping to reveal the multitudes of people doing great work to bring yoga to schools and communities. It’s an exciting time. As our work moves up from “under the radar” and we begin to forge stronger connections, our movement builds and strengthens. I am heartened by the level of sharing and support happening among the many children’s and youth yoga organizations.

In honor of the many folks who dedicate their days and lives to uplifting youth through yoga, I will list a sampling of the many organizations supporting the work. If you see someone missing, please fill in the list in the comments section.

Yoga in My School Canada

Y.O.G.A. for Youth Los Angeles

Headstand San Francisco

Bent on Learning NYC

Street Yoga Portland

Under the Yoga Tree Hawaii

Karma Kids Yoga NYC

Next Generation Yoga California and New York

Mindful Practices Yoga Chicago

Childlight Yoga Maine

Kids Yoga Circle Rhode Island

Mini Yogis Los Angeles

Yoga Playgrounds Los Angeles

YogaKids Indiana

Yoga Buddies Los Angeles

Radiant Child Yoga

Yoga Ed Los Angeles

Buddhaful Kids Wellesley

Calming Kids Yoga Colorado

The Wellness Initiative Colorado

Young Yoga Masters

And, of course, Shanti Generation Los Angeles

This  is in no way an exhaustive list, only a sampler of the great work happening out there. Altogether, we can effect positive change in the lives of children and teens.

5 Responses to “Building Community Around Yoga for Children and Teens”

  1. Ann Says:

    Abby, I admire you and all those that give your time and gift to the youth of the world. It is needed in every school. Times are tougher than ever these days and it is so good to know that there is an outlet for the youth to find their inner peace. Thanks to all of you who are helping the world be a better place.

    Much Love,
    Annie


  2. What a heartwarming post! I’m also incredibly grateful to have found life long friends and fellow kids yoga community members through the strange but wonderful social networking space. I’m especially grateful to have met you and learned of your wonderful work with preteens and teens. We feel honored to support Shanti Generation by carrying your amazing DVD in our boutique and touting it as ‘the resource’ for a home practice for preteens and teens, as well as a teaching resource in our trainings and workshops around the US and Canada. You’re amazing as are the inspiring list of others you’ve provided. Namaste.
    Lisa Flynn
    ChildLight Yoga (http://www.childlightyoga.com)
    Yoga 4 Classrooms (http://www.yoga4classrooms.com)
    The Kids Yoga Resource (http://www.thekidsyogaresource.com)

  3. Aruna Says:

    I can relate to what you say about social networking. I didn’t get into it at first, but it’s through reading all the kids yoga blogs that I feel like I’ve found my tribe of people!

    Now I get what youth are saying when they talk about their on-line friends. Kids will have a whole new way of building community so I’m glad I truly understand the joy of it. Thanks for putting words to something I was feeling too.

  4. tulsayoga Says:

    I am excited to have Resource Education for Calming, Energizing, Self-Awareness and Self-Regulation (RECESS), to join this wonderful group. Living in Oklahoma and just reading this blog and the Shanti Generation Facebook, has made me feel more of a community. Thanks! As for social media, RECESS is far behind, but spending the next few months catching up. Looking forward to hearing more from everyone, Elizabeth Barlow, http://www.recessforhealth.org.

  5. Deborah Wallin Says:

    Peace on the Inside is an art and yoga program bringing calm, self-esteem, and smiles to incarcerated youth in Orange County Juvenile Hall. We do yoga and art 3 times a week with locked up kids and are currently working on a cool mural project with the terrific Long Beach muralist Jose Loza. 714.724.3575.


Leave a Reply

